The large family of quartz is divided into two groups: macrocrystallized quartz and microcrystallized quartz.

Names of the various quartz according to their color:

  • The rock crystal is colorless
  • Amethyst is violet. Until the 18th century, it was considered a precious stone in the same way as diamond, ruby, emerald or sapphire.
  • Citrine is yellow
  • Prasiolite is green, its color is often obtained by heat treatment of an amethyst
  • Smoky quartz is brown
  • Morion is black
  • Rose quartz is pink of course.
  • There is also ametrine, a famous stone known for its bicolor aspect: yellow and purple. The most beautiful and most prized are those from Bolivia.
  • The different quartz inclusions:
  • The quartz hair of Venus: Inclusions of golden rutile needles.
  • The quartz arrows of love: inclusions of black tourmaline
  • The green aventurine: inclusions of fuchsite.
  • The blue aventurine: inclusions of dumortierite 
  • The brown aventurine: inclusions of hematite
  • Falcon's eye: inclusions of blue crocidolite (non-oxidized crocidolite) Crocidolite corresponds to asbestos.
  • Tiger's eye: inclusions of golden crocidolite (crocidolite in the process of oxidation)
  • Bull's eye: inclusions of reddish crocidolite (oxidized crocidolite)
  • The eye of iron: inclusions of crocidolite

And microcrystalline quartz :

  • Blue-grey chalcedony
  • Orange carnelian
  • Moss agate
  • Agate, used for cameos
  • Chrysoprase
  • Jasper
  • Blood jasper
  • Heliotrope
  • Onyx